2016 National TAP Conference

Mar 18 - Mar 19, 2016

Hyatt Regency New Orleans, New Orleans, LA

NIET held its 16th Annual National TAP Conference in New Orleans, Louisiana, on Friday, March 18 - Saturday, March 19, 2016, at the Hyatt Regency New Orleans.

Read the Recap

The National Institute for Excellence in Teaching held its 16th Annual National TAP Conference in New Orleans, Louisiana, on Friday, March 18 - Saturday, March 19, 2016, at the Hyatt Regency New Orleans. 

The National TAP Conference is a dynamic gathering of practitioners, policymakers, federal, state and district administrators, organizations, foundations and businesses who play a key role in the implementation of TAP: The System for Teacher and Student Advancement across the country.

The conference is a powerful venue, both for those new to and experienced in TAP, to learn more about TAP in practice and its role on the national pulse of advancing educator effectiveness.

Attendees experienced a range of opportunities to gain a deeper understanding of TAP's systems of teacher leadership, professional development, educator evaluation and performance-based compensation, as well as network with other TAP participants.

In addition to practitioner-focused breakout sessions, trainings and hands-on workshops, the TAP conference featured a national plenary panel, moderated by NIET Chairman and TAP Founder Lowell Milken, to connect TAP's proven principles to critical issues facing America's K-12 system today. 

Southport Elementary School in Perry Township Schools, Indiana, won the prestigious TAP Founder's Award. The Indianapolis school's student achievement levels have soared even while experiencing significantly increased numbers of English Language Learners (ELLs) and high poverty rates. The award includes a $50,000 prize to be used toward continuing to improve classroom teaching and student success.

Follow us on Twitter and visit our YouTube channel for more conference highlights.

 John  White

John White

John White was named Louisiana State Superintendent of Education in January of 2012. That year, White launched Louisiana Believes, the state’s plan to ensure every child is on track for college or a professional career. 

 Kristan  Van Hook

Kristan Van Hook

As chief policy officer at the National Institute for Excellence in Teaching (NIET), Kristan Van Hook develops and implements strategies to build support for NIET's education initiatives, with a focus on increasing teacher and school leader effectiveness.
 Patricia  Tate

Patricia Tate

Patricia Tate is passionate about teaching and learning, especially when it comes to the children she has served for more than 25 years in the Osborn School District.

Roberto Roberto   Rodríguez

Roberto Roberto Rodríguez

Roberto J. Rodríguez serves in the White House Domestic Policy Council as Deputy Assistant to the President for Education. Rodríguez coordinates the Administration's education policy initiatives from early learning through college and career training.

 Venitia  Richardson

Venitia Richardson

Venitia Richardson leads the Teacher Quality Programs (TQP) division in the U.S. Department of Education’s Office for Innovation and Improvement. As Director of the TQP division office, Richardson oversees several discretionary grant programs that include Race to the Top-District, the Teacher Incentive Fund, School Leadership and Supporting Effective Educator Development. 

Dr. Scott   Ridley

Dr. Scott Ridley

Dr. Scott Ridley has served as the Dean of the College of Education at Texas Tech University since the summer of 2011. Since that time the College has engaged in significant reform including the evolution of all academic programs to a competency-based orientation. 

Dr. Patrice  Pujol

Dr. Patrice Pujol

Dr. Patrice Pujol, who has recently joined National Institute for Excellence in Teaching as president of services and partnerships, is the former superintendent of Ascension Parish Schools in Louisiana.

Dr. Tanee  Hudgens

Dr. Tanee Hudgens

As senior research associate for the National Institute for Excellence in Teaching, Dr. Tanée Hudgens supports all aspects of the organization’s research activities. 

Kevin Guitterrez

Nadya Nadya   Chinoy Dabby

Nadya Nadya Chinoy Dabby

Nadya Chinoy Dabby is the Assistant Deputy Secretary for Innovation and Improvement at the U.S. Department of Education, overseeing over 25 grant programs.

Norm Norm   Conard

Norm Norm Conard

Norman Conard is a third-generation educator who taught for over 30 years, during which time he developed non-traditional teaching methods that extend the boundaries of the classroom. 

 Joshua   Barnett

Joshua Barnett

Dr. Joshua Barnett is co-president and chief operating officer for NIET, responsible for supporting NIET partnerships with strategic oversight of research, NIET's higher education innovation, and service delivery.
 Gary  Stark

Gary Stark

Dr. Gary Stark supports and advises NIET staff and the board of directors in their mission to advance educator effectiveness.
 Lowell  Milken

Lowell Milken

Lowell Milken's lifelong commitment to strengthening K–12 education has led to some of the country's most innovative means to dramatically advance educator effectiveness.