The Alaska Council of School Administrators received a 3-year federal Teacher and School Leader (TSL) Incentive Program grant in partnership with NIET and four rural, high-need districts: the Northwest Arctic Borough School District, Yukon-Koyukuk School District, Alaska Gateway School District, and Nenana School District.

The project, called Increasing Performance and Retention in Alaska's Rural Schools, will support the creation of structures for professional learning communities, school leadership teams, and educator observation, feedback, and evaluation. It will serve approximately 475 educators and 2,500 students through both in-person and virtual coaching and training.