Lowell Milken


Lowell Milken's lifelong commitment to strengthening K–12 education has led to some of the country's most innovative means to dramatically advance educator effectiveness.

Dr. Gary Stark

Vice Chairman

As vice chairman of NIET's board, Dr. Gary Stark supports and advises NIET staff and the board of directors in their mission to advance educator effectiveness.

Ralph Finerman


Ralph Finerman is a certified public accountant and attorney and serves as president of RFG Financial Group, Inc.

Dr. James W. Guthrie

Board Member

Dr. James W. Guthrie is a presidential fellow and professor of Education Policy at Lynn University in Boca Raton, Florida.

Dr. Bryan Johnson

Board Member

Dr. Bryan Johnson, a native of Nashville and proud product of public schools, serves as chief of staff for U.S. Xpress.

Dr. Wayne D. Lewis Jr.

Board Member

Dr. Wayne D. Lewis Jr. is the president of Houghton College and is a champion of students with 20 years of experience in education.

Dr. Candice McQueen

Board Member

Dr. Candice McQueen is the president of Lipscomb University in Nashville, Tennessee. She formerly served as chief executive officer of NIET and Tennessee's commissioner of education.

Dr. Ted Sanders

Board Member

Dr. Ted Sanders is an education executive and corporate director with a demonstrated history of working in the education management industry.

Ray Simon

Board Member

Ray Simon is the head of Simon Consulting, where he provides independent consulting services at the national, state and local levels on topics relating to education policy and practice.